其他小猫用品推荐

注:在本篇中推荐的任何产品都不是广告,CREAMTOFU没有收取任何广告费用,纯分享目的,请家长们根据个体需求自行决断是否进行购买

小猫除了食物还有其他需求。在这里我会给大家介绍一些有用的猫咪用品,这些都源自于我的饲养经验。

 
Ceramic_edited.png

1. 小猫的餐具​

小猫每天都需要喝水。我们推荐您24小时不间断地给小猫提供新鲜干净的水源。我喜欢用瓷碗装水和食物,瓷碗一般都比较重,不容易被打翻。市面上有各式各样的猫用 饮水机。我个人并不反对使用饮水机,我也买过。但是饮水机需要人经常去更换滤芯和清洗,但相比起来水碗更容易清洗和换水,这样小猫喝到的常常都是新的水。切勿把食碗和水碗放的太近,有时候猫很喜欢把食物叼出来吃,会导致不小心把食物残渣掉到水碗里把水弄脏。

31562-1555707346_1400x.webp

2. ​猫砂

我们给小猫咪使用普瑞纳的纸粒猫砂(如上图)。猫家长们可以随意给小猫选用自己喜欢的猫砂。在给小猫换新猫砂时最好慢慢换,或使用Dr. Elsey's ULTRA Litter Attractant,这是一种引导小猫在指定位置上厕所的粉末。这样是为了防止小猫因为不熟悉新猫砂而乱拉乱尿。以上产品都可以在商店内或者网上买到。

0005220000795.webp

3. ​零食

我们推荐您给小猫吃这些零食:Inaba Churu猫条,S&C冻干鸡心,Beech-Nut肉泥婴儿食品,或其他以肉为原料的无谷零食。买婴儿食品时请确认您买的种类里面只含有肉和肉汤。没吃完的湿零食(如猫条,婴儿食品等)请放进冰箱冷藏储存。

37311-center-2.jfif

3. 猫玩具

猫确实很爱睡觉,但他们醒着的时候也非常有活力。他们很喜欢玩玩具。上图这个玩具叫做Cat Dancer。 很便宜,而且我的猫都很喜欢玩。你用猫玩具陪猫一起玩,加深你们的感情,有时候也可以用来教育小猫。当他们表现不佳的时候(比如在啃咬一些不该咬的东西)你可以拿出逗猫棒来转移他们的注意力。逗猫棒在不玩的时候应该收起来,因为逗猫棒需要在人的监护下玩耍,并且这样做可以让他们保持对逗猫棒的兴趣。

请一定一定不要让猫和头绳,鞋带等类似的可以吞下去的物品玩。这非常危险!猫可能一不小心吞下去,从而对身体内部造成严重伤害,甚至需要去急诊。这是真实发生过的,请一定注意。真的没有必要让你的猫冒着生命危险去玩这些东西,而且也不必要白给宠物医院送本来是不必要花的钱。 

imageService.jfif

4. ​猫爬架

市面上有很多种猫爬架,在实体店和网上都能买得到。猫爬架对于猫来说是必需品,因为猫的本性促使他们想要爬上高的地方。给他们买猫爬架可以有效减少他们爬上其他高家具的几率,并且他们会更开心。

IMG_3527.PNG

5. 猫抓柱/猫抓板

猫喜欢磨爪子,这样可以让爪子变尖并不那么长(但还是需要剪指甲的,稍后会有说明)这是又一个快乐猫生必需品。也是为了猫家长着想。有了猫抓板或猫抓柱的存在,猫基本上不会在你不想让他们抓的东西上面磨爪子(例如沙发,椅子等等)

1.All-Size-R-L-800x800px-02-scaled.jpg

6. 擦泪痕

造成猫咪流眼泪的原因多种多样。头骨面部更平(或者鼻子较短)的猫咪更容易流眼泪,常见品种如波斯,折耳,英短等。褐色眼泪是正常的,因为他们泪水里的一种蛋白质导致了这种颜色。为了防止泪痕对眼周皮肤的刺激,您应该每天至少给您的小猫擦两次泪痕。我们猫舍使用PinkPawPal的产品来给猫咪擦泪痕,和泪痕粉搭配使用效果更佳哦。

以下情况请不要轻视:

  • 眼部分泌白色/黄色/绿色脓液

  • ​眼部明显肿胀/发炎

​这时候请立刻带猫去看兽医!

Cat_Claw.png

7. ​给猫剪指甲

这张图片展示了给猫剪指甲的方法。市面上有很多种类的猫指甲剪,也可以使用人用指甲剪。我们建议您至少每1-2周检查一下猫咪的指甲长度,并帮他们修剪。最好从他们小时候就养成剪指甲的习惯,剪完指甲可以适当给零食奖励,这样他们就不会讨厌剪指甲。

即使猫会通过磨指甲来让指甲变短,但他们也会有磨不到的几个指甲,然后就会越长越长,最终刺进猫咪的小肉垫。这真的很痛。

我遇到过两只这样的猫,是我朋友家的,他们出远门的时候我帮助他们照顾猫咪。两只猫的主人都没有很在意剪指甲这件事,其中一只有两颗指甲长到扎进肉垫里,另一只有一颗指甲扎进了肉垫里。由于肉垫很痛且不习惯被剪指甲,他们被碰爪子的时候会很生气。最后我帮他们剪掉了长指甲,摆脱了痛痛的肉垫。

510X0iv0HyL._AC_SL1200_.jpg

8. ​给猫刷牙

在CreamTofu我们使用Mind Up猫用牙刷和Virbac CET猫用牙膏。我们建议每天都给猫刷牙,最好从小开始训练。​不好好刷牙的后果就是要花好几百甚至好几千刀在兽医院接受治疗。

File_000 (1).jpeg

9. ​给猫梳毛

猫毛如果不经常梳是会打结的,特别是长毛猫。

我推荐长毛猫最好每天至少梳一次,短毛猫最好每周至少梳一次。梳毛时重点关注耳后,腋下,以及屁股毛哦。

File_000 (2).jpeg

10. 给猫洗澡

长毛猫建议至少一月一洗,短毛猫建议至少一年两洗。

奶油豆花猫舍的小猫咪都是一周一洗。我们使用PinkPawPal的猫用沐浴露和猫用护毛素。如果猫咪毛发很油腻的话,我们会使用GOOP先去油,后洗澡。PinkPawPal洗出来的效果真的很棒,而且他们产品的香味很好。洗完澡后我会用毛巾帮他们擦干水,然后吹风机低热吹至毛发全干。吹毛的时候最好用自己的皮肤经常试试温度,避免过热烫伤小猫。

IMG_4246_edited.jpg

11. ​猫用保健品

在这里我将给大家介绍一些我给猫用过的保健品,请先咨询您的兽医,并根据实际情况使用!这些东西不是必须买的,不要盲目跟风,如果猫不用吃就别给!

710elM-JafL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

绿十字利尿片

​猫咪泌尿系统疾病是致命的。如果你的猫喝水少,或者尿尿很困难,你可以考虑给他吃利尿片。

71Ku7ZEJNgL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

​绿十字猫草片

首先:猫不应该吐毛球。如果他们的消化系统在正常工作的话,毛球应该是随着便便一起排出的。如果你一个月内看到你的猫吐毛球超过三次,你应该注意了。偶尔吐一次是没关系的,但经常吐就是有问题了。你可以考虑喂给她上图的猫草片。我不推荐你因为猫吐毛而给他们吃化毛膏,但是化毛膏对于缓解便秘还是很有用的。

816wusJlhQL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

​益生菌胶囊

这个益生菌可以常备,因为猫拉稀也不是啥稀奇的小毛病。如果猫拉稀了,你可以给他们的猫粮上撒一些胶囊里的粉。

61JXXSM9M7L._AC_SL1163_.jpg

​防便秘胶囊

如果看到你的猫拉屎费劲,可以考虑给他吃这个胶囊,或者化毛膏。这有利于便秘的猫拉屎。添到猫粮里直接给就行。

81IghJR1lBL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

Lexelium Vision Support

在猫饭里加一些这个粉末可以减少流眼泪。我尝试过各种补品,目前为止这个是最有效的。

IMG_4242_edited.jpg

12. 常见病猫症状

​如果你的猫有以下症状,赶紧带他们去看兽医

  • 瞳孔缩小或涣散(对光源大小无反应)

  • 持续性的呕吐/拉稀

  • 不爱吃饭

  • 明显的体重下降

  • 突然大喘气或喘不上气

  • 乱拉乱尿

  • 瘸着腿走路或有受伤

  • 明显外伤或化脓

  • 不寻常的眼/鼻分泌物(通常会让猫的脸看起来非常非常脏)

  • 局部脱毛,或皮肤病

  • ​还有其他不正常的现象,不列举了

Screenshot 2021-04-12 191723.jpg

​医疗保险

我们给小猫咪们提供到家后30天的免费医疗保险(仅适用于在美国的猫家长们,在纽约州和佛罗里达州的猫家长会有不同条款)我们建议猫家长们给小猫咪一直上保险。

Other things your kitten needs

P.S. ANY BRAND/PRODUCT MENTIONED ON THIS PAGE IS FOR SUGGESTING PURPOSES, NONE OF THEM IS FOR ADVERTISEMENT. PLEASE PURCHASE ACCORDING TO YOUR ACTUAL SITUATION
 

Kittens have needs other than food. In this page I will introduce you some kitten supplies I found useful from my own experiences.
 

 
Ceramic_edited.png

1. Bowls

Kitten has daily water intake needs. We recommend supplying your kitten with unlimited fresh & clean water 24/7. I prefer using ceramic bowls to feed my kitten since they're usually heavy and hard to be tipped over. There are various types of water fountains on the market. I personally am not against them, I have bought a few. It was just that they need to be washed and have their filters changed frequently while with one bowl it is way easier to wash and refill to always give your kitten fresh water. Never put the food and water bowl too close to each other since sometimes cats tend to eat their food outside of the bowl and may cause the clean water to go dirty.

31562-1555707346_1400x.webp

2. Cat Litter

For cat litter, CreamTofu kittens are currently using PURINA yesterday's news. You may use any kind of cat litter upon your personal preferences. But make sure you either transit slowly or use supplements to help them transit, such as Dr. Elsey's ULTRA Litter Attractant. This way accidents will less likely to happen when kittens are introduced with a brand new cat litter. All above mentions items can be found either in-store or from online retailers.

0005220000795.webp

3. Treats

We recommend giving kittens treats such as: Inaba Churu, Stella&Chewy Freeze Dried Chicken Heart, Beech-Nut meat baby food, or any other kind of meat based grain-free treats. Note that do make sure you get the one that only has meat and broth for the baby food type of treat. And as always, any type of unused portion of wet treats(Inaba Churu, Baby Food, etc) should be stored in refrigerator. 

37311-center-2.jfif

3. Cat Toys

Cats may sleep a lot, but they are also very active when awake. They will love any toy you buy them. The one in the picture is called Cat Dancer. It is very cheap and enjoyed by all of my cats. Cat toys can be used to interact with your cats, deepen your bonds, also sometimes for educational purposes. When they're not in good behavior (for example: biting on things they weren't supposed to) you can simply use cat toy to distract them from the bad behavior. Make sure you don't leave cat teaser wands out for them to reach because they shouldn't play with that kind of toy without supervision, and also they will lose interest to the wand if you do so.

Please do not let your cat play with hair ties, shoe laces or similar things that would possibly go though their tiny throats. IT IS ULTIMATELY DANGEROUS that cats may accidentally swallow those and ends up with serious internal injury that requires emergency medical attention. This is real, please be aware. There's no point risking your cat's life and paying tons of money to the vet that could have been avoidable.

imageService.jfif

4. Cat Tree

Various types cat trees can be found in-store or from online retailers. This is essential for a cat's life since cats just like to climb high. Buying them a cat tree will make them more comfortable living with you. With a cat tree, it is less likely that your cat would want to climb onto other tall furniture that you don't wish them to. 

​​​

IMG_3527.PNG

5. Cat scratch post/board

Cats love to scratch their nails so that they can sharpen them and keeping them short(but would still need nail cut, will explain later) This is another essential for your cat's happy life. For you too. With cat scratch post/board, they will less likely to scratch on things you don't want them to (such as sofa, chair, etc)

1.All-Size-R-L-800x800px-02-scaled.jpg

6. Eye Cleaning

Dust, allergies, viruses, infections, or physical conformation issues can cause watery eyes. Brachechypalic “flat faced”(or short-nosed)  breeds such as Persians, Scottish Folds, and British Shorthairs are prone to excessive tearing. Brown tearing is normal since proteins in their eye fluid caused the color. Wiping their faces should be done at least twice daily to avoid skin irritation. Here at CreamTofu we use PinkPawPal to clean our cats' faces. Works best when combined with the Wink Eye Powder.

Be concerned when:

  • White/yellow/green discharge​

  • eyes are swollen/irritated

Bring your cat to the vet ASAP!

Cat_Claw.png

7. Nail Trimming

The illustration shows how and where you should make the cut when it comes to nail trimming for cats. There are various types of nail clipper for cats, you may also use nail clipper for human to trim your kitten's nails. We recommend checking your kitten's paws at least every 1-2 weeks and cut nails short when necessary. Please always start early so your cat won't be super against getting nails trimmed, also give them treats after so eventually they will get used to this short, unharmful experience.

Even though cats scratch to shorten their nails, it would not be enough because they could miss 1 or 2 of the toes and thus those will grow longer and longer and finally, they are too long and will poke into your cat's toe beans. That really hurts them. 

My have experienced 2 cats of my friends that I helped taking care of when their owners were away. Both of their owners didn't care to trim their nails and as a result one of them had 2 nails poked into toe beans and the other one had 1 nail poked into her toe bean. They get grumpy when I tried to help them trimming their nails and relieving the pain because they are not used to trimming nails and their toes hurt. But still I helped them, and they look a lot relieved afterwards.

510X0iv0HyL._AC_SL1200_.jpg

8. Tooth brushing

Here at CreamTofu we use Mind Up Toothbrush for Cats and Virbac CET Enzymatic Toothpaste. We recommend brushing their teeth daily and start early. Without consistent tooth brushing they will develop dental problems, which costs hundreds to thousands of dollars to be treated.

File_000 (1).jpeg

9. Brushing 

Cats' fur can be tangled if not groomed properly, especially for longhaired cats.

I recommend brushing longhaired cat at least once daily, shorthaired cat at least once weekly. Don't forget to brush behind ears, under armpits, and around their butts.

File_000 (2).jpeg

10. Bathing

We suggest that longhaired cat to be washed minimally once a month while shorthaired cat to be washed minimally twice a year. 

At CreamTofu, we bathe our kittens once a week. The product we use for bathing is PinkPawPal Whitening & Silky Shampoo, together with the Nourishing Conditioner of the same brand. For cats that has oily furs, we use GOOP to degrease before bathing. I really like the result PinkPawPal brings and the scent is very nice. After bathing, I will first use a towel to dry the kitten's fur, then blow dry them till fully dried with low on heat. Always test the temperature of the wind with your hands while blowing dry your kitten, you don't want to accidentally burn them. 

IMG_4246_edited.jpg

11. Supplements

  I will introduce some supplements I have used for my cats. Only use according to actual situations and make sure you consult your vet first! Do not consider anything below to be a MUST BUY, do not give if cat does not required it!

710elM-JafL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

Vet's Best Urinary Tract Support

​绿十字利尿片

Urinary tract issues can be life-threatening to cats. Consider giving your cats this tablet if they don't intake enough water or having trouble peeing.

71Ku7ZEJNgL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

Vet's Best Hairball Relief Digestive Aid

First of all: CATS SHOULD NOT PUKE OUT HAIRBALLS. Cat fur digested from daily grooming should be passed out through bowel movement. If you're seeing your cat puking out hairballs more than 3 times each month, be alarmed. It is ok to do so once in a while, but not too often. Consider giving him the product shown in picture. Hairball gel is not recommended for hairball issues, but it is great for constipation in cats.

816wusJlhQL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

Proviable-DC

Keep some of this on hand since it's common for cats to sometimes have upset stomach. You may sprinkle the capsule on your cat's food if they're experiencing upset stomach.
 

61JXXSM9M7L._AC_SL1163_.jpg

Virbac Vetasyl Fiber Capsules

If seeing your cats have trouble pooping, like constipated, you may consider giving him this capsule, or hairball gels to make bowel movement easier for him. Simply add to food for easier administration.

81IghJR1lBL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

Lexelium Vision Support

You may add this powder to your cat's food to reduce tearing. I've tested different types of supplements and this one so far gives the best result.

IMG_4242_edited.jpg

12. Common signs of a sick cat

If your cats meet these conditions, don't hesitate and take them to the vet!

  • Constricted or dilated pupils

  • Vomiting or diarrhea for days

  • Loss of appetite

  • Noticeable weight loss

  • Rapid breathing or shortness of breath

  • Improper use of litter box

  • Limping or injuries

  • Wound or swelling

  • Abnormal discharge from eyes or nose

  • Hair loss or skin irritation

  • etc

Screenshot 2021-04-12 191723.jpg

Insurance

We provide free 30-day go home insurance for our CreamTofu kittens (only works if pet parents are inside the U.S., excluding NY and FL, different terms apply to NY and FL.) We encourage pet parents to continue insuring your kittens.